• News

This was the IFCS year 2018.

A review of an eventful year.

The time between Christmas and New Year’s Eve is perfect to look back on the passing year. To bring out the highlights once again and to dare one or the other view on the coming year. The IFCS year 2018 was once again an exciting one, packed with camps and friendly matches all over Styria.

ÖFB team as highlight

Nearly 30 camps were organized by IFCS in 2018. Numerous national teams were guests in the World Cup year, such as the World Cup starters Iran and Serbia or the national teams of Chile, the Czech Republic and Qatar. In addition, the U17 teams of Bosnia, Denmark and France as well as the U17 and senior national teams of Austria.

The summer was dominated by the club teams. Twelve clubs completed their preparations in Styria, some even with two teams. These included the European Cup starters Besiktas, Copenhagen, Krasnodar and MOL Vidi as well as FC Everton and Hertha BSC.

“The highlight was quite clearly that we were able to welcome the ÖFB national team twice to our training camps in Styria, in Bad Waltersdorf,” IFCS Managing Director Kian Walizadeh looks back. “The World Cup preparation with the qualified teams from Iran and Serbia, as well as numerous camps and test matches in the summer let us positively look back but also forward”.

Duel of the Giants

In terms of media reach, a special test game caused a sensation throughout Europe: FC Bayern Munich and Paris Saint-Germain met at the Wörthersee Arena in Klagenfurt and attracted spectators from all over Austria and the surrounding countries.

A second game with less big names brought a similar media response. FC Everton defeated ATV Irdning 22:0 on 14 July. Reports and videos of the match were ghosts through all media for days.

In March IFCS organized the elite round of the U17 European Championship qualification in Styria. On 21, 24 and 27 March the ÖFB juniors met Denmark, Bosnia and France. Unfortunately, the qualification tournament was not successful in sports – Austria only managed a draw and missed the European Championship together with France.

In the meantime, preparations are underway for the IFCS year 2019: “Some new cooperations are already in the making. You can be curious”, Walizadeh is already looking forward to the new year.

• News

Eliterunde, ÖFB-Doppelpack und Gigantenduell: Das war das IFCS-Jahr

Ein Rückblick auf ein ereignisreiches Jahr.

Die Zeit zwischen Weihnachten und Silvester bietet sich an um auf das ablaufende Jahr zurückzuschauen. Die Highlights noch einmal hervorzuheben und den einen oder anderen Ausblick auf das kommende Jahr zu wagen. Das IFCS-Jahr 2018 war einmal mehr ein spannendes, vollgepackt mit Camps und Testspielen in der ganzen Steiermark.

ÖFB-Team als Highlight

Knapp 30 Camps wurden 2018 von uns organisiert. Zu Gast waren im WM-Jahr auch zahlreiche Nationalteams, etwa die WM-Starter Iran und Serbien oder auch die Nationalmannschaften Chiles, Tschechiens und Qatars. Dazu kommen die U17-Auswahlen von Bosnien, Dänemark und Frankreich sowie die U17- und die A-Nationalmannschaft Österreichs.

Der Sommer stand im Zeichen der Klubmannschaften. Zwölf Klubs absolvierten ihre Vorbereitung, teilweise sogar mit zwei Mannschaften, in der Steiermark. Darunter die Europacup-Starter Besiktas, Kopenhagen, Krasnodar und MOL Vidi oder auch FC Everton und Hertha BSC.

„Das Highlight war ganz eindeutig, dass wir das ÖFB-Nationalteam gleich zweimal bei uns in der Steiermark, in Bad Waltersdorf, auf Trainingslager begrüßen durften“, wirft IFCS-Geschäftsführer Kian Walizadeh einen Blick zurück. „Die WM-Vorbereitung mit den qualifizierten Teams aus dem Iran und aus Serbien, sowie zahlreiche Camps und Testspielen im Sommer lassen uns positiv zurück aber auch nach vorne blicken.“

Duell der Giganten

Medientechnisch sorgte speziell ein Testspiel für europaweites Aufsehen: Der FC Bayern München und Paris Saint-Germain trafen in der Wörthersee Arena in Klagenfurt aufeinander und lockten Zuschauer aus ganz Österreich und den umliegenden Ländern an.

Ein zweites Spiel mit weniger großen Namen brachte ähnliches Medienecho mit sich. Der FC Everton besiegte am 14. Juli den ATV Irdning mit 22:0. Berichte und Videos davon geisterten tagelang durch sämtliche Medien.

Im März organisierte IFCS die Eliterunde der U17-EM-Qualifikation in der Steiermark. Am 21., 24. und 27. März trafen die ÖFB-Junioren auf Dänemark, Bosnien und Frankreich. Sportlich war das Qualifikationsturnier leider nicht von Erfolg gekrönt – Österreich gelang nur ein Remis und verpasste damit zusammen mit Frankreich die Europameisterschaft.

Inzwischen laufen die Vorbereitungen auf das IFCS-Jahr 2019. „Einige neue Kooperationen bahnen sich schon an. Man darf also gespannt sein“, freut sich Walizadeh bereits auf das neue Jahr.